The site migrations form exists in order to help you to migrate a site from one client to the other. It is designed to handle the nodes, services and supernets when doing so.
A site migration is a migration from one site to another site. If you want to migrate every site in a client, this means that you will need a site migration for every site in the migrating client.
Creating a site migration
In order to start a migration, you first need to create a site migration. You can do this by clicking on the 'new' button, this brings you to the create site migration form.
The first thing you need to do is to find the site you want to migrate. In the field “From Site or Client”, you can start typing and it will automatically fill in the Client code or Site code you're looking for. If you select one, all matching sites will show up in the grid below it. You can do the same for the target site in the right field: “To site or client”.
You can now select your sites to migrate. To do this you select the sites you want to migrate in the left grid. There are two ways to migrate a site:
- Merge: When a site is merged, all its nodes and services are transferred to the target site. You can only merge one site into another.
- Duplicate: When a site is migrated, a new site is created as a duplicate of the target site, but with the same site code as the original site. All of the site's services and nodes are also going to be merged into this newly created site. You can duplicate multiple sites at once.
When you click on the “Merge” or “Duplicate” button, the left grid is filled in with the correct target sites. At that point, nothing has been done in the backend yet. Your selections will only be applied once you click on the “OK” button. Before that, you can undo your selections with the undo button and nothing will happen. Cancelling the form will also negate anything you selected.
When you click on the “OK” button, the site migrations and corresponding sites (if needed) are created. Nodes, services and supernets are still at their original place. This migration happens at the next step.
Migrating a site
Once a site migration has been created, you can select it in the site migrations grid. It has been sorted so that the most recent migrations appear on top. The grid hides any complete migrations by default, but if you check the “include completed”-checkbox you will be able to see all completed migrations.
When you have selected a migration, you will see two grids, containing the nodes of each site in the migration, grouped by service. You can then move one service to the other side, one at a time. The one important field in the form is the “Share migration site supernets”. This dropdown determines how supernets are transferred to the target client. There are four options you can select:
- move as needed: Whenever you move a service, all supernets that have subnets in that service are moved to the target site.
- If a supernet is being used by another service on the original site, it is simply copied.
- If the supernet already exists on the target client, it won't be added twice.
- share as needed: Whenever you move a service, all supernets that contain subnets used by this service are copied to the target site, if they're not already there.
- move all: Whenever you move a service, all of the supernets of its site are moved to the new site and are deleted from the original site.
- share none: no supernets are moved when you move a service.
To migrate a service, you click on a the service's nodes on the migrating site. Then click on the “»” button, and then they are automatically migrated. You can also migrate the node back if desired. If no more services remain on the original site, you can set its status to complete, and the migration is finished.
You can also set the migration to completed when it's active, while there are still nodes left on the migrating site. You can also set the migration back from completed by migrating a node back to its original site. This is not recommended however.